Good Eats

Perfect Healthy Fall Pumpkin Pancakes

pumpkin blog 2

 

I have this sneaky suspicion that I am starting to get old.

Or at least feel old.

The past few years I have started to get alarmingly excited when Autumn rolls around.

Gladly stowing away summer crop tops for warm oversized sweaters?

I’m all ’bout that life.

Fall just really makes me just want to cozy up next to my fire with a good book and a cup of tea.

…that sounds like something my dad would say.

Gross.

Speaking of my dad. I think he may have inspired this blog post in more ways than one. He decided that every time he comes over to my house he needs to bring a pumpkin. Literally the man has brought over 3 pumpkins in the last week. Why? No clue. It’s pretty cute though. Which brings me to my next point about one of the very best things about fall-

Pumpkin flavored errthang.

First of three pumpkin visits

First of three pumpkin visits

And I’m not talking about just pumpkin pie, either.

Because lets be real, who really likes pumpkin pie that much? Not me.

You want to feel super festive and creative? Try out these pumpkin pancakes on a super crisp and cold fall morning. Preferably a bit sunny, but still crisp and cold. Because thats the ‘ish I do like.

Let me rephrase that… Super festive, creative and healthy. Because pumpkin is loaded with fiber, potassium, iron and a ton of vitamins and minerals.

Go, you!

You might be a bit confused though. After one bite your taste buds will be tasting an alarmingly nostalgic and delicious hint of pumpkin (typical dessert) with the warm fluffiness of a pancake (natural breakfast). You will be like, dessert first thing in the morning? No… Thats just dessfast my friend. Dessert breakfast. And it really is the best kind of breakfast.

Not to mention it is gluten-free, sugar-free, and dairy-free.

You’re welcome, taste buds.

Recipe:

  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1 banana (the browner the better)
  • 1 1/2 cups soy milk (Or any preferred kind)
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (just to help with fluffiness. It’s not weird or noticeable, promise.)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 C Bob’s gluten free flour (Once again, or any preferred kind)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice (or 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp ginger)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Thoroughly blend together pumpkin puree and banana.
  2. Mix in milk, vinegar, oil, egg and vanilla
  3. Add flour, baking powder, soda, spices and salt
  4. Heat a lightly oiled griddle over medium high heat. Scoop about 1/4 C  per pancake and brown on both sides.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Serve hot with some warm maple syrup. Or maybe even some vanilla coconut milk ice cream if you are feelin’ real dessfasty.

Enjoy!

Xo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

