Good Eats

Guilt-Free Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse

You know that love affair I was telling you I have with chocolate and peanut butter?

We had another pretty special moment again the other night.

SONY DSC

I must admit though that I wish I could just invite you over to my house and let you eat this yourself before you get weirded out by the ingredients.

You are going to look at it and think no… no. That just sounds wrong

But trust me.

It’s so right. 

I am going to just throw it out there and say that this has tofu in it.

Which might weird you out.

It weirded me out and I love the stuff.

But I am promising you that it works. I don’t know why. It just does.

It creates the most heavenly, silky, smooth, rich texture that you will swear has to be the result of an atherosclerosis-inducing amount of cream and butter and an unspeakable amount of sugar.

But it’s not!

It actually has no added dairy, refined sugar or eggs. (*depending on the type of chocolate bar your use)

Mousse Recipe:

  • 3.5 oz dark chocolate bar or chips (or more, to taste)
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter (or more, to taste)
  • 12 oz silken tofu (drained)
  • 1/2 c warmed vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Optional Crust Recipe:

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1/2 c almonds (ground into a flour)
  • 4 dried and pitted dates
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

I am not sure if mousse very commonly has a crust, but I decided I was feeling one so made a simple one out of only 4 ingredients and processed it until mixed thoroughly. I made it raw which was absolutely delicious with the mousse I ate right away, but the couple ones sitting in the fridge got a bit soggy after a couple days. Next time I will probably bake it prior to putting the mousse on it if it won’t be eaten immediately. If you go this route you can also just put it in a pie pan and make a mousse pie. If you try doing it, let me know how it works out!

SONY DSC

I used Ghirardelli dark “evening dream” chocolate, which I realized wasn’t vegan. This recipe can easily be made completely vegan by choosing a dark chocolate without dairy, however.

SONY DSC

Directions:

1. Squeeze some of the liquid out of the tofu. I usually put it on a board and press it gently with a plate.

2. Break chocolate into pieces and melt in a double broiler or the microwave. If using a microwave stir every 30 seconds until smooth.

3. Warm peanut butter until smooth.

4. Put tofu in food processor and process until smooth. Add chocolate, almond milk, vanilla and peanut butter.

5. Chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour. I put mine in a gallon zip lock bag then cut the corner and piped it into bowls. Totally not necessary to do but it made it look a bit more fancy.

SONY DSC

My husband was totally skeptical when I mischievously asked him to guess what it was made out of.

SONY DSC

I was pretty jazzed at the shocked look on his face when I said tofu.

Which, by the way, is an amazing source of calcium, iron and protein.

So go ahead, do your body a good deed. Eat some mousse. Prevent some osteoporosis. Protect yourself against anemia. Get your post-workout muscle food.

Whatever your reason, I hope you enjoy it!

xoxo,

Katie

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

