Good Eats

Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

You know how people have that one person they can never live without?

I think the same goes for candy bars.

My candy bar one true love is the Peanut Butter Cup.

My mother always told me to go for “tall, dark and handsome.”

The peanut butter cup is a solid 2/3.

Not to mention it is incredibly loyal. Peanut butter and chocolate will never do you wrong.

A food combination made in the heavens.

At one point in time if I caught a glimpse of that orange and yellow wrapper in the store chances are I couldn’t resist. I would buy Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups casually on a trip to get groceries without an afterthought.

Until I found out that they contain some pretty nasty ingredients.

Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, nonfat milk, milk fat, corn syrup solids, soy lecithin, PGPR) peanuts, sugar, dextrose, salt, TBHQ, citric acid.

Let me break down those ingredients real quick for you.

Dairy- given GMO hormones, fed GMO grain, given antibiotics

Soy lecithin- made from GMO soy

Sugar- made from GMO beet sugar

Citric acid- made from GMO corn

Dextrose- made from GMO corn

TBHQ- (also known as E319 or Tertiary Butylhydroquinone)- known carcinogen in animal studies

PGPR (polyglycerol polyricinoleate)- Not throughly studied to be proven safe for human consumption.

What the heck, Reese’s?

The worst kind of betrayal.

Let me tell you I was real bitter after discovering that my favorite childhood candy is now toxic.

But as a chocoholic  I naturally needed to move on.

Luckily I have recently been seeing recipes for home-made peanut butter cups pop up and was curious if such a glorious concoction was truly possible in a home kitchen.

I did a little dabbling and I must say… wow.

Let me tell you it is in fact possible my friends.

And it is way, way better.

Not only do these taste fresh because they are raw, they contain no added refined sugar, gluten and dairy.

Try it out for yourself and let me know what you think!

SONY DSC

Base

¼ c rolled oats

4 tbsp peanut butter

1.5 tbsp coconut oil (melted, if necessary)

1.5 tbsp maple syrup

.5 tsp vanilla

pinch of sea salt

Topping

2.5 tbsp maple syrup

2 tbsp cacao powder

3 tbsp coconut oil (melted, if necessary)

pinch of sea salt

Directions:

1. Process oats in a food processor or blender into a fine flour

2. Add in the rest of the base ingredients and blend until smooth

3. Line mini (or large) cupcake tin with cupcake wrappers

4. Fill with base

5. Mix topping in bowl

6. Fill over base

7. Freeze and devour

I hope you have a real romantic evening with these bad boys.

Leave a Reply

